Photos by John Brady

At the 104th State Convention in Austin, Tx, on July 16, 2023, winners of the 2023 Texas American Legion Publishers Association (TEXALPA) awards were announced.

The American Legion, Peter J Courcy Post 178 newsletter, Spreading the Word,” received the 2023 TEXALPA Chuck Donaldson First Place Award.

The post newsletter has been published quarterly since 2014 when Post 178 was chartered. The newsletter has won this award five of the last seven years. Terry Meyering has been the newsletter publisher since its inception.

The Post 178 Facebook page,, also received the 2023 TEXALPA Patsy Palmquist Second Place Award. The page is updated daily and contains information that is posted on the website. This is the first year the page has received an award.  Members recognized were Eric Bonar, web site designer/developer, and Larry Wilhelm, content manager.

Also noteworthy is the Post 178 website ( was awarded first place in the 2021 and 2022 The American Legion Media Alliance (TALMA) national media contest. The Public Relations Committee during those years which maintained the site included Ed Reed, Eric Bonar, Larry Wilhelm, and Terry Meyering.